The Ridge League of Cities awarded $13,000 in Academic Scholarships at the June Membership Dinner Meeting held in Davenport.  The Ridge League presented 5 additional scholarships in April to students seeking vocational or trade degrees.  Scholarship opportunities are offered to students from over 30 high schools throughout the six counties of the Ridge League.  This year, students from Frostproof Middle/Senior High School and Zephyrhills High School had students win both an academic and vocational scholarship.  $2,500 academic scholarships were awarded to Aurelia Chavez, Frostproof Middle/Senior High School; Haley Staving, Zephyrhills High School; Landon Olmert, Winter Haven High School; and Harley Cross, DeSoto County High School.  Natalia Marie Diaz from Polk State College Lakeland Collegiate High School was awarded the 2024 Ruthanne Stonewall $3,000 Scholarship.  The scholarship is named after the former Ridge League Executive Director who served eighteen years in the position.

2024 Ridge League of Cities Academic Scholarship Winners l to r: Hailey Staving, Zephyrhills HS; Harley Cross, DeSoto County HS; Landon Olmert, Winter Haven HS; Natalia Diaz PSC Lakeland Collegiate HS (Aurilia Chavez, Frostproof HS not pictured)

Lakeland Commissioner Sara Roberts McCarley and President Morris West present the Ruthanne Stonewall Scholarship to Natalia Diaz from PSC Lakeland Collegiate High School

Winter Haven Mayor Pro Tem Brian Yates and President Morris West present an academic scholarship to Landon Olmert from Winter Haven High School

Arcadia Councilmember Judy Wertz Strickland and President Morris West present an Academic Scholarship to Harley Cross from DeSoto County High School

President Morris West presents Hailey Staving from Zephyrhills High School an Academic Scholarship