RLC President Dorothea Taylor Boger presented $2,500 Academic Scholarships to Breann Weachter (Ridge Community High School), Serena Thomas (Polk State Lakeland Collegiate High School), Riley Glogowski (Winter Haven High School), and Frida Rodriguez-Rubio (Pasco High School).  Breanne, Serena, Riley, Frida, and their families were recognized at the June Membership Dinner in Lakeland.  Alee Swango (Lake Wales High School) was out of state and unable to attend.  Frida Rodriguez-Rubio was also presented an additional $500 for being the highest ranked applicant and awarded the Ruthanne Stonewall Scholarship.   The $3,000 Scholarship is named in honor of former RLC Executive Director Ruthanne Stonewall.   All scholarship winners were also presented scholarship certificates at their school’s Senior Awards Ceremonies.  Thanks to Lake Wales former Commissioner Terrye Howell, Lakeland Mayor Pro-Tem Sara Roberts McCarley, Lake Alfred Mayor Nancy Daley, RLC Executive Director Bobby Green, and Dade City Commissioner Scott Black for representing the Ridge League at each of the school’s Senior Awards Program. Congratulations to these outstanding students and wishing you the best!

Best Wishes to the 2023 RLC Academic Scholarship Recipients.  L to R, Riley Glogowski (Nova Southeastern University – Marine Biology), Serena Thomas (University of Florida – Health Management), Breann Weachter (Florida State University – Biochemistry), Frida Rodriguez-Rubio (University of Central Florida – Industrial Engineering), and RLC President Dorothea Taylor Bogert.  Not pictured, Alee Swango (University of Florida – Engineering/Architecture)

Former RLC Executive Director Ruthanne Stonewall and RLC President Dorothea Taylor Bogert present Frida Rodriguez-Rubio the 2023 RLC Ruthanne Stonewall Scholarship.  Named in honor of the former executive director, the $3,000 Scholarship will assist Frida at the University of Central Florida, where she intends to major in Industrial Engineering.   Congratulations Frida!

Winter Haven City Commissioner Tracy Mercer joins RLC President Dorothea Taylor Bogert in presenting Riley Glogowski with one of the 2023 RLC Academic Scholarships.  Riley plans to attend Nova Southeastern University seeking a degree in Marine Biology. 

Davenport Commissioner Bobby Lynch and RLC President Dorothea Taylor Bogert present Breann Weachter a 2023 RLC Academic Scholarship to assist with her future studies at Florida State University.

RLC President Dorothea Taylor Bogert is joined by Lakeland Mayor Pro-Tem in presenting Serena Thomas an Academic Scholarship.  Serena plans to attend the University of Florida and major in Health Management.