The City of Lakeland hosted the Ridge League of Cities June Membership Dinner in the Sykes Hall at the RP Funding Center.  What an exciting evening!    A total of 247 were in attendance including 156 City Members and 67 Associate Members.  Twenty-two (22) of the twenty-four (24) RLC member cities were represented.  Haines City won the traveling trophy for the cities and Chastain Skillman won the Associate Member trophy.  The evening started with recognizing the 2023 Florida League Home Rule Heroes.  These members represented the RLC and their cities and towns in advocacy efforts during the past legislative session.   The June meeting is always a special occasion when we award our Academic Scholarships and the Ruthanne Stonewall Scholarship.  Congratulations to you all!

We were also pleased to welcome one of the most sought-after speakers, authors, and thinkers on the subject of aging as our guest speaker.  Mark Middleton, CEO and founder of Growing Bolder was inspirational and very motivating.   He challenged the membership to live with purpose, and not to just to grow older but to Grow Bolder!   Thank you, Lakeland!

Marc Middleton, CEO and founder of Growing Bolder inspiring the RLC Membership Dinner in Lakeland. 

The Cities of Auburndale, Lakeland, Lake Alfred, and the engineering firm Kimley-Horn were recognized as sponsors for the guest speaker at the June Membership Dinner Meeting in Lakeland.   Pictured with our Guest Speaker Marc Middleton, CEO and Founder of Growing Bolder, are Auburndale Mayor Dorothea Taylor Bogert, Lakeland Mayor Pro-Tem Sara Roberts McCarley, Kimley Horn Engineer Jason Alligood, and Lake Alfred Mayor Nancy Daley

Congratulations to the City of Haines City on winning the RLC Traveling Trophy at the June Membership Dinner.  RLC President Dorothea Taylor Bogert presents the Traveling Trophy to some of the Haines City officials in attendance. 

Lakeland based Chastain Skillman won the Associate Member Traveling Trophy at the June Membership Dinner. Alex Barnes represented the firm in accepting the trophy from RLC President Dorothea Taylor Bogert. Our thanks to Chastain Skillman and to all our Associate Members for their continued support of the Ridge League of Cities.