The Ridge League of Cities is proud to announce the winners of the 2024 Vocational/Trade Scholarships.  The five recipients were recently recognized at the April Membership Dinner Meeting in Lakeland.  Students from the various high schools within the Ridge League in Polk, Highlands, Hardee, Hillsborough, Pasco, and DeSoto counties are eligible for the $1,250 scholarship.  Students must seek a degree or certification at either Polk State College, Hillsborough Community College, South Florida State College, Pasco-Hernando State College, or either Travis Technical College or Ridge Technical College.  This year’s winners are:

Elina Botello from Frostproof Middle School seeking a degree/certification in cardiovascular technology at Polk State College

Diego Diaz from Summerlin Academy seeking a degree/certification in EMT/Firefighting at Ridge Technical College

Jordan Johnson from the West Area Adult School seeking a degree/certification in aviation airframe mechanics at Travis Technical College

Lucas Gonzalez from Lakeland High School seeking a degree/certification in airframe and powerplant at Travis Technical College

Jordan McDaniel from Zephyrhills High School seeking a degree/certification in welding at Pasco Hernando State College

Each of the students were presented an acrylic award and will receive a certificate at the student’s senior awards ceremonies at their school.  Several of the student’s guidance counselors were also in attendance to be recognized.

Congratulations to each of our 2024 Ridge League of Cities Vocational/Trade Scholarship Winners!

Ridge League of Cities Officers join the 2024 Vocational/Trade Scholarship Winners.  From L to R, Brian Yates, Treasurer; Sara Roberts McCarley, Secretary; Elina Botello, Frostproof HS; Jordan McDaniel, Zephyrhills HS; Lucas Gonzalez, Lakeland HS;  Diego Diaz, Summerlin Academy; Jordan Johnson, West Area Adult School; Morris West, President; and Rod Cannon, Vice President

West Area Adult School Transition Specialist Cheryl Parker and RLC President Morris West congratulate Vocational/Trade Scholarship Recipient Jordan Johnson

RLC President Morris West with Frostproof Middle/Senior High School Vocational/Trade Scholarship recipient Elina Botello

Summerlin Academy Counselor Deborah Brister and RLC President congratulate RLC Vocational/Trade Scholarship winner Diego Diaz.

RLC Vocational/Trade Scholarship recipient Jordan McDaniel from Zephyrhills High School with RLC President Morris West

Lakeland High School Guidance Counselor Rosonia James Lindsay joins RLC President in congratulating Vocational/Trade Scholarship winner Lucas Gonzalez